Year 9 Industrial Revolution

Capital and Labour (Punch Archive) retrieved from http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/education/victorianbritain/industrial/default.htm 3/5/12

This subject guide is still under construction and so far has taken 8 hours to resource (and I have been having layout issues!). The Industrial Revolution is a HUGE topic that I remember being very boring when I was at school!  Isn’t it wonderful the internet came along to liven things up.

Australian Curriculum

The Industrial Revolution (1750 – 1914)

• The technological innovations that led to the Industrial Revolution, and other conditions that influenced the industrialisation of Britain (the agricultural revolution, access to raw materials, wealthy middle class, cheap labour, transport system, and expanding empire) and of Australia (ACDSEH017)
• The population movements and changing settlement patterns during this period (ACDSEH080)
• The experiences of men, women and children during the Industrial Revolution, and their changing way of life (ACDSEH081)
• The short and long-term impacts of the Industrial Revolution, including global changes in landscapes, transport and communication (ACDSEH082)

A suggestion of how to approach this topic can be found at http://www.slideshare.net/MarionLittlejohn/industrial-revolution-htav-2011

General Information

The first place many kids will go is Wikipedia. It is quite text dense but could be useful for the section on technological developments.    A better alternative is the often forgotten school or local library databases (encyclopaedias).

Industrial Revolution. (2012). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/287086/Industrial-Revolution

I can’t provide links to such sites as they are “by subscription” but here are some hints

Search for ”Industrial Revolution”

Search  for “Industrial Revolution”.  Also search “British Industrial Revolution”. You could also mix other search terms with “industrial revolution” (industrial revolution and inventions).

Websites

Whole topic

• National Archives – Victorian Britain

This is an excellent interactive resource that provides extensive, approachable information and interesting and fun activities. The aim is to encourage students to look critically at documentary evidence of the past through looking at a section (gallery) which focuses upon an area of public life during the Victorian period. In each of these galleries, students are required to investigate an aspect of Victorian life by considering a key question.  Whilst all the galleries are interesting the most pertinent would be An Industrial Nation?  How safe was it to work in Victorian Britain? Each gallery is made up an introduction, a timeline, a series of sources, each with tasks, further background information and  aeries of activities, which require students to make use of the knowledge and understanding that they have acquired (INCLUDING GAMES!)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/education/victorianbritain/

• World History Links has an extensive range of primary source material http://www.socialstudies.com/c/worldlinks.html?s@FcbYrTVeviCu2

• BBC History: British History Look in  the section “Victorian Britain (1837-1901)”. Here you will find many articles on technology and innovation, daily life and health during the time of the Industrial Revolution. Particularly interesting are the animations of innovations like the spinning mill and steam engine. And who wants to be a cotton millionaire?

• Higher level source questions on a range of IR topics http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/0073385514/student_view0/chapter26/internet_exercise.html

Origins and Technological Innovations

A film is always useful

Turning Points in History – Industrial Revolution uploaded to Youtube AllHistories on Oct 2, 2009

• The Industrial Revolution: Technology and Effects  – lecture dot points, some of it is a bit senior for Yr 9 (references to Marxism etc) but good as a summary.  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/lect/mod16.html

• The Origins of the Industrial Revolution in England –  A lecture like resource more for teacher use (or able students) http://www.historyguide.org/intellect/lecture17a.html

• International World History Project: Industrial Revolution another lecture like/text dense resource but easy enough to follow http://history-world.org/Industrial%20Intro.htm

• Fordham University Internet Sourcebook: Industrial Revolution
  http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/mod/modsbook14.asp#The%20Industrial%20Revolution
  • The Agricultural Revolution of the 17th-18th Centuries
    The Revolution in the Manufacture of Textiles
    The Revolution in Power
    Railroads
    Steam Ships
    The Great Engineers
    The Process of Industrialization

• Great Inventors of the Industrial Revolution –  TeachersFirst offers this classroom-ready unit on Inventors of the Industrial Revolution, in a format well-suited for projector, IWB, or individual student use. These interactive lessons will help students grasp the background and impact of the inventors of the Industrial Revolution. The activities include a timeline and some basic facts so students build a context of historical events and every day life in the time period.  http://legacy.teachersfirst.com/lessons/inventor/ag1.htm

• Industrial Revolution’s Textile Industry –  http://www.fibers.com/main/industrial-revolutions-textile-industry

• Making the modern world online modules – from domestic to factory production – excellent information, links to biographies and primary sources. Could stand alone as an introduction to the IR. http://www.makingthemodernworld.org.uk/learning_modules/history/01.TU.01/

• Don’t forget your local technology museum!

Sydney’s Powerhouse museum has resources such as this http://www.powerhousemuseum.com/collection/database/?irn=7177&search=boulton+watt&images=&c=&s=

Britain’s Culture 24 a portal for British museums. Type in Industrial Revolution  http://www.culture24.org.uk/search%20results?q=industrial+revolution

• Fill in the gap summary http://www.schoolhistory.co.uk/lessons/industrialrevolution/industrialsummary.htm

• Links to the technological changes and the innovators http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/IndustrialRevolution.htm

• Modern History Sourcebook: Andrew Ure: The Philosophy of the Manufacturers, 1835,Andrew Ure (1778-1857),  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1835ure.html

Population Change

TBC

Way of life (experiences of men, women, children)

• Fordham University Internet Sourcebook: Industrial Revolution http://www.fordham.edu/Halsall/mod/modsbook14.asp#Social and Political Effects
• Conditions in the mines – an excellent resource follow the hyperlinks to  primary sources/statistcis etc.  http://www.historyhome.co.uk/peel/factmine/mines.htm
• The Life of the Industrial Worker in Ninteenth-Century England  http://www.victorianweb.org/history/workers2.html
• The plight of women’s work (includes questions on primary sources) http://www.womeninworldhistory.com/lesson7.html
• Resources for life of children

Child Labour in Britain http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/IRchild.main.htm

Child Labour Activity http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/Twork.htm

Children in Victorian Britain – Whilst targeted at primary students this is a visually appealing and useful resource http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/primaryhistory/victorian_britain/

The Sadler Committee Report on Textile Factories http://history.hanover.edu/courses/excerpts/111sad.html

Modern History Sourcebook: Harriet Robinson: Lowell Mill Girls, In her autobiography, Harriet Hanson Robinson, explains some of the family dynamics involved, and lets us see the women as active participants in their own lives – for instance in their strike of 1836. (describes US Mill Life) http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/robinsonlowell.html

How about some Horrible Histories! Check out their Youtube Channel, watch on BBC or ABC3 in Australia or paytv. Look out for the following

• Work terrrible work (song)
• Georgian Wife Swap (about enclosures act and poverty)
• Victorian Childhood
• New Victorian maid (shouty man)

Impacts

TBC

Games

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/victorians/launch_gms_cotton_millionaire.shtml

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/victorians/launch_gms_muck_brass.shtml

Other Resources/Ideas

Another way into a topic (particularly modern day )is through tag galaxy –it a way students can get a visual impression of a topic.  Check out this one using Industrial revolution and England as tags.

Workbook sample chapter

http://www.oup.com.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/335663/BI_History9_Workbook_Ch2.pdf

Differentiation theory and the Industrial Revolution

Carol Ann Tomlinson is known for her books on differentiation.  She provides an example of differentiating the Industrial Revolution in this book –

http://books.google.com.au/books?id=B28daFfAeaAC&pg=PA58&dq=industrial+revolution&hl=en&sa=X&ei=SrqgT9KyCajUmAWu-9W4CA&ved=0CDgQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q=industrial%20revolution&f=false

I Pad App

http://itunes.apple.com/au/book/the-industrial-revolution/id470942647?mt=11

Oliver Twist

Dickens novel or film versions would be a way into the Industrial Revolution – look for resources such as this  – http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/masterpiece/olivertwist/teachers_guide.html